Spotlight: Warby Parker

glasses2

Two weeks ago I was told that I need to get glasses. I’ve made it to thirty with good vision and I guess it had to happen sometime. I am a member of Kaiser, and I knew from a previous optometrist appointment that they had their own shop with really nice brand name frames. At my appointment, I learned that my plan does not cover the cost of glasses, so I’d have to pay the full price. Most everything I saw and liked was in the $150 range, which I guess isn’t terrible if you’re talking about something that may cure headaches and will be a fixture in your daily accessories for years to come. But I still wanted to do better…and I did!

Every now and then, when I find a company or an affordable product that is particularly good, I want to write about them and let others know. So ladies and gentleman, I give you… Warby Parker.

I bet you will never guess how I discovered this company (unless you look at the photo below). You’re exactly right! I googled “Robin Wright glasses House of Cards” and found an article that showed her in a particular outfit and pointed out the brand of each thing she had on. Pretty crazy, huh? When I went through the series with my husband, I always admired her in the frames and fancied them for myself.

glasses

I went to their website to find a plethora of gorgeous and affordable frames. This company’s entire concept is “to create boutique-quality, classically crafted eyewear at a revolutionary price point.” Quality and a friend to the frugal? Well, well! Say no more WP, that sounds right up my alley. All of their frames are $95 including the prescription lens, tax and shipping. How is that for affordable? Had I bought mine at Kaiser, I’d have spent almost double that amount.

My next step was to find out where in town I could try some of these bad boys on. In true Los Angeles fashion, their only two walk-in locations are inside The Standard Hotel in either downtown or on the Sunset Strip. Sigh. I love this city. For those who don’t know, The Standard Hotel is a very modern, kind of weird, trendy spot. My main memory from the West Hollywood location was entering the lobby and seeing a woman inside of a glass box behind the front counter. She was lying down, or “modeling” as I’m sure they’d say, and playing with her cell phone. I’m not sure if they still do that, but regardless, you now have a clearer picture of the kind of place this is. If you need a clearer one, see below.

girl

The Standard Hotel lobby

There are also options for those of you who do not live in a big city. On the website, you can order up to five frames to try on at home, free of charge. Once you decide on the one you like, you return them and they get started on your order. Pretty neat. You can also do the virtual try-on, which I think a lot of companies are doing nowadays. Mine wasn’t pretty.

The next day, I trotted downtown and checked out the Warby Parker kiosk at The Standard Hotel. For Angelenos, I’d recommend going to the West Hollywood location, only because it’s an actual store at that hotel. I tried on frame after frame for thirty minutes and finally settled on one I liked. Unfortunately, my round cheeks weren’t suited for the Beckett frames the way Robin Wright’s skinny face and pixie cut were. I can’t imagine why. WE LOOK SO MUCH ALIKE. I paid my $95 flat and was informed the frames would ship to my house! Yet another perk that I was not expecting.

Kaiser had not given a pupil distance measurement with my prescription, so I had to do one myself online through WP’s website. It was pretty high tech if you ask me. It’s like they have thought of everything and made it as user friendly as possible.

But wait, it gets better… when I got my email confirmation of the order, I was informed that because I bought a pair of glasses with them, they were sending one to a person in need. What?! I didn’t even know that was part of the deal!!

Approximately one billion people don’t have access to affordable glasses. Glasses can increase one’s income by 20%, enable students to see a blackboard and offer dignity to those with poor eyesight. Warby Parker works with experienced non-profit partners to ensure that each sale of our frames will give someone in need access to affordable glasses.  

They also allow you to return or exchange the glasses, no questions asked within thirty days of purchase with free shipping. And if you scratch them in the first year, they’ll fix them free of charge. Sounds too good to be true. The glasses arrived last weekend and let me just say, it’s not! I had such a great experience with Warby Parker that I had to share. If you are in the market for new frames that look great and have amazing customer service, look no further than Warby Parker.

5 thoughts on “Spotlight: Warby Parker

  1. Pingback: Spotlight: Warby Parker | TakeOneForTheTeam

  2. Thanks for this. I’ve been hanging on to my doc’s prescription because a) she’s got so-so glasses styles, most of which I hate and b) I’ve been dreading dealing with it (re:cost)

  3. Sounds like a great deal! I’ve been told a lot about zinnia.com, but there is definitely a more discount-vibe about it. This seems very high-class while also affordable. (not that I need this anymore–I got Lasik 4 years ago–but I’ll keep it in mind if anyone else needs frames)

  4. Pingback: A Free Day In Savannah | Knuckles & Twine

Leave a Reply

