Practicing Contentment Will Make You Rich

contentment

So will the stock market, discovering gold or oil, creating a pyramid scheme, inheriting a wad of cash or inventing the next big cell phone app. See none of these in your future? Worry not, I have found the answer to all of your financial woes: enjoy the life and possessions you already have. The End. Just kidding, I have more to say. But if that’s all you take away from this post, that’s enough for me. Not only will this practice breed a more grateful attitude, you will spend less money.

As previously mentioned, I have been in a season where this idea has had to be put into practice day in and day out. Learning to be still and trust that the past few months have been rather boring is not an excuse to spend, (though everything in me wants it to be). It would be very easy to fill my days with needless shopping, eating out and pricey adventures. Instead I have tried to practice more giving, organizing the home in ways that make me more comfortable for the time being, spending time with people I care about and plotting out fun future plans. Can you imagine how much money you’d save if you enjoyed all that you have from relationships to the luxuries of your home without paying for new things all the time? After all, it’s only the past few generations that have even considered something like shopping a way to pass the time.

It’s easy to lose the excitement you once felt when you bought something new for yourself. How does one get that back? Or rather, is there a way to simply appreciate it again the way you once did? Waiting to buy is one way to ensure a lasting love for said object. A very popular exercise in the frugal stratosphere is to wait at least thirty days before making a purchase. That way you know that if after a month of waiting, you still want the item, it might be worth getting. I have practiced this effectively and not purchased many a gadget because of the time I took to think about it. Alternatively, I’ve had it backfire and watch things go on sale, then off sale, to then no longer being available. In the end, I wanted it more than I did in the first place! Of course that was more me waiting ninety days, so the problem was really user error. I recommend giving it a shot on the next want that catches your eye. This includes things like clothing or books, which most of us don’t usually give a second thought before swiping our money away.

My husband and I recently took a course at our church where a financial advisor came in and spoke to us for a few hours. One of the things he said that I thought was a very helpful reminder was “it took your parents twenty-five to thirty years to have what they now have”. I think it’s easy for my generation to forget that slow and steady wins the race. Many of us have little memory of the struggles our parents had when they were starting out and we were so young. All we see is them now; financially free, possibly retired and not stressed about money (hopefully). To imagine waiting another thirty years to “arrive” discourages me beyond belief, but I believe the principal at heart is very important. We have to be patient in our financial journey and can’t expect everything to fall into place with the snap of a finger. Everyone has their own mission that is specific to their circumstances. One of mine is not to be homeowners simply because we’re in the right life stage, have a stable a career and a kid on the way. We would be fools to use all we’ve saved that way before we know what lies ahead. Besides, the more time we spend saving, the less time (and interest) we will spend paying down a loan. And being that we live in California, not many people we know are even on this path yet. For others, this is the age you do that, and good for you. I especially admire when people know where they want to live and plant roots so early in their careers. For us, it’s a little muddier and that’s okay for now. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. 😉

This past week I’ve been feeling more happy than I have in a while and I wonder if it’s not because I am starting to get the hang of this contentment thing. It feels good to spend less and know I’m making money by not touching what we already have in the bank. Setting up an automated savings plan has trained my brain that there is a certain amount in our account that is now off limits every week. I’m looking forward to a lot of big and small plans that August has in store. I’ve said this before; it’s very helpful in one’s journey toward contentment to look forward to what lies ahead. I’m on the upswing from months of feeling like a prisoner in my own body due to pregnancy sickness. And the best season of the year begins next month! That’s what I am looking forward to most. What can you put into practice starting today to make a positive change in the way you see your future and present circumstances? It might be as simple as counting down the days until you can take out the fall decorations. What a fun activity for the whole family that doesn’t cost a dime! We frugal types have to get creative during life’s slow seasons and I’m interested to hear the ways you fight the urge to spend and even subsequently save. We can inspire each other!

Leave a Reply

